Animation Art

   Arcade Jukeboxes & Pinball


   Banks, Registers, Vending


   Bottles & Insulators

   Breweriana, Beer





   Cultures, Ethnicities

   Decorative Collectibles


   Fantasy, Mythical & Magic

   Furniture, Appliances & Fans

   Historical Memorabilia

   Holiday, Seasonal

   Housewares & Kitchenware

   Knives, Swords & Blades

   Lamps, Lighting

   Linens, Fabric & Textiles



   Pens & Writing Instruments

   Pez, Keychains, Promo Glasses

   Photographic Images

   Pinbacks, Nodders, Lunchboxes

   Postcards & Paper

   Radio, Phonograph, TV, Phone

   Religions, Spirituality

   Rocks, Fossils, Minerals

   Science Fiction

   Science, Medical




   Tools, Hardware & Locks

   Trading Cards


   Vanity, Perfume & Shaving

   Vintage Sewing

The L. Frank Baum and Ruth Thompson OZ Books!

Since its publication in 1900, L. Frank Baum's
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz and the 13 other OZ books written by him has become America's greatest and best-loved childrens fiction books. The first totally American fantasy for children and it is one of the most-read children's fiction story books. Frank Baum's 14 OZ books encouraged a long series of sequels, stage plays and musicals, movies and television shows, biographies of Baum, scholarly studies of the significance of the books and films, advertising, toys, games, and other Oz-related products.

The Oz story has become a classic because it blends elements of magic and witches, with ones from early twentieth-century American reality, such as a Kansas cyclone, a scarecrow, and a man made of tin.

The Wizard of Oz was originally published as The Wonderful Wizard of Oz in 1900 and again published as The New Wizard of Oz in 1903. The book is about a lonely and sad Kansas farm girl named Dorothy Gale. She dreams of a better place, without torment against her dog Toto from a hateful neighbor spinster, so she plans to run away. During a fierce Kansas tornado, she is struck on the head and transported to a land "beyond the rainbow" where she meets magical characters from her Kansas life transformed within her unconscious dream state. She travels down a Yellow Brick Road to the Land of Oz, and defeats of the Wicked Witch of the West. Dorothy and her friends are rewarded by the Wizard of Oz with what ever their hearts desires. Dorothy chooses to return home to Kansas. Below is a list of the 13 other OZ books written by L. Frank Baum and the date published.

The Wonderful Wizard of OZ book

Ruth Plumly Thompson was an American writer of children's stories. After L. Frank Baum died in 1919 she continued his work in the children's fantasy Land of Oz book series. Thompson's contributions to the Oz series are lively and inventive, featuring a wide range of colorful and unusual characters. Thompson resigned from writing Oz books in 1939 and John R. Neill took over, writing three until his death in 1942. Thompson later wrote two more Oz books. Below is a list of the 19 OZ books written by Ruth Plumly Thompson and the date published.

  • The Royal Book of Oz (1921)
  • Kabumpo in Oz (1922)
  • The Cowardly Lion of Oz (1923)
  • Grampa in Oz (1924)
  • The Lost King of Oz (1925)
  • The Hungry Tiger of Oz (1926)
  • The Gnome King of Oz (1927)
  • The Giant Horse of Oz (1928)
  • Jack Pumpkinhead of Oz (1929)
  • The Yellow Knight of Oz (1930)
  • Pirates in Oz (1931)
  • The Purple Prince of Oz (1932)
  • Ojo in Oz (1933)
  • Speedy in Oz (1934)
  • The Wishing Horse of Oz (1935)
  • Captain Salt in Oz (1936)
  • Handy Mandy in Oz (1937)
  • The Silver Princess in Oz (1938)
  • Ozoplaning with the Wizard of Oz (1939)
The Wonderful Wizard of OZ book

John Neill was a children's book illustrator primarily known for illustrating more than forty stories set in the Land of Oz, including L. Frank Baum's, Ruth Plumly Thompson's, and three of his own. Oz books he wrote include:The Wonder City of Oz (1940), The Scalawagons of Oz (1941) and Lucky Bucky in Oz (1942).

Jack Snow was a writer, as well as a scholar of L. Frank Baum books. He wrote 2 OZ books: The Magical Mimics in Oz (1946) and The Shaggy Man of Oz (1949). Other well known OZ books, The Hidden Valley of Oz was written by Rachel R. Cosgrove in 1951 and Merry Go Round in Oz by Eloise Jarvis McGraw and Lauren McGraw Wagner in 1963.

Home | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Links

This site is Copyright Farber and Associates, LLC 2005-2014, All Rights Reserved